Why I like to go to Barnes and Noble

I love the library. I love the smell of the books, the old yellowed pages, people all sitting and reading. I go there one time a week with my daughter and sift through all the books that peak my interest that time and check out a few (I can only read so many in a two week period) and then go home.

I go to Barnes and Noble every so often, but not to shop. Barnes and Noble is a business and it has a different feel for me than the library. I go there, not to buy books, not to read books but to see the books that get published and are becoming successful. This is motivation for me.

A few weeks ago, I felt the ‘oh my God, I’m never getting published’ feeling and decided a trip to Barnes and Noble was in order.

We, my husband, daughter and I, went to the B&N in West Hollywood. My wonderful husband took my daughter to the kids’ section while I walked around the top floor.

The first book I saw was Confessions of a Guidette, by Snooki. Yes, Snooki got published.

I stared at the cover. For those of you who haven’t seen it, it is Snooki in a bathing suit standing next to a tanning bed. This is going to be deep, I can already tell.

Apparently the book is about how to be like Snooki. Because that is something we all want, to be annoying, ignorant, uneducated, orange people.

I was furious. I know that she must have had help with the writing because she probably writes like she talks which usually comes out like a 12 year old girl who has been drinking.

But this was motivation. Every time I think ‘I can’t do it,’ I stop and look at the photo I took with my phone. Snooki standing next to the tanning bed is my motivation.

If she can do it, so can I.

Leave a Reply

