Little Bits of Revenge

Confession #2:  I always get revenge.

My former stepfather, we will call him Ed, was a real bastard.  He yelled, screamed, name-called and hit.  In the ten years I lived with him he never once made me feel like I was a part of his family.  He never apologized for his bad behavior until I got a little bit of revenge.  Keep in mind, these were between the ages of 12-18 years so they are not earth shattering.

Little Bits of Revenge

#1: I have asthma

A lot of children have asthma.  I was one of them.  My asthma was exercise/allergy induced.

One day my stepfather came into my room.  He accused me of leaving crumbs on the counter.  I told him I hadn’t put anything on the counter that day.  He started to yell and told me I was lazy.  We argued.  Ed called me names.

“Useless!  Stupid!  Lazy!”

Then he walked toward me.  I didn’t want to get hit.  I never wanted to but this time I saw a way out.  I started breathing heavy, taking shallow breaths.  Then I gasped for air.  Ed backed up.

“What’s wrong with you?”

“Asthma.  I have asthma.”  I gasped.

“Oh God.  I’m sorry.  What do I do?”

I pointed to my backpack.  He brought it to me and backed away again.  I retrieved my inhaler and took a puff (taking a puff of medication when you do not need it is not recommended).

Ed took another step back.

“Are you ok?”

“Yeah, I think so but I should rest.”

He left.  Ed really didn’t even look in my direction for a few days.

I felt empowered.  Not only was I able to make him stop but I made him fear me.

Of course time passed and I knew I couldn’t keep pulling the fake asthma attack to get out of things.  I would have to save it for really bad times.  Instead I did smaller things.

For example, I erased a meeting on his calendar and then rewrite it later (I was a great tracer).  I moved his mail and then it would reappear under a pile of papers on his desk.  I hid his keys, in his coat pocket.  He couldn’t blame us (which is what he usually did and was usually wrong) because he found things a little while later.

These little bits of revenge were childish and didn’t really help me but they sure made me feel good.

Confession #2: I always get revenge.

Leave a Reply

