Reading Outside the Box

I love mysteries.  I love cozies alà Diane Mott Davidson.  I love procedural forensic/procedural mysteries.  Generally, I stick with this genre. A good psychiatrist could probably trace this back to my childhood which was drenched with Murder She Wrote, Matlock and Diagnosis Murder,(all of which I still watch and love).  

This led to me reading Encyclopedia Brown, Nancy Drew, Fear Street novels and the like as a child.  As an adult, I moved onto Joanne Fluke, James Patterson and Agatha Christie.  

When I was in college, however, they expected me to read outside the box.  I was not excited.  My favorite English professor assigned a biography that was outside our normal reading.  Many juvenile students picked J.K. Rowling, Dr. Seuss and other children's writes to avoid reading an adult book (I love both those authors but they are not adult reads).  I chose Sylvia Plath.  

Reading The Bell Jar  was the most eye opening and realistic book I had ever read on depression.  I continued to read Plath's work and even found Sylvia Plath reading her poetry on YouTube (no she wasn't video taped as she died long ago, it was an audio recording).

This was the best thing that could have happened.  It has expanded what I write about, style of writing, and tone, really it has changed everything.

Now I try to read a book outside my usual genre at least once a month.  

This month's pick: Chasing Harry Winston by Lauren Weisberger, which is great so far!

Advice to you: read something different and be prepared to be changed.

Happy reading!
One thought on “Reading Outside the Box

  1. You always motivated me to read books outside of my comfort zone…whenever I would go downstairs to the ‘library’ and you would hand me a book, I would always groan inwardly and trudge back upstairs to read it. Every time I was surprised by how much I liked the books, sometimes it is good to read outside of the box. *so true*

Leave a Reply

