Daily Prompt #8

Write about being invisible but today someone can see you for the first time.

My take on it:

It wasn’t the leather jacket or the dark eyes that sent a chill down my spine. It was the sly smile that crept onto her face when she looked in my direction. No one was supposed to be able to see me.

I watched as she moved, almost floated through the crowd toward me. It felt like her midnight blue eyes were burrowing into my hazel eyes but it couldn’t be. I’d been invisible, floating between Heaven and Earth for hundreds of years and no one had ever seen me.

The leather clad blond stopped a few feet from me and shifted her gaze. That’s when I noticed the mirror behind me. With an exhale, I realized she was looking in the mirror. She fluffed her crimped locks and as I was about to glide away, she spoke.

“How long?” She asked. I looked around to see who she was talking to but everyone else at the party was socializing in groups around the room.

“You, with the hazel eyes, how long have you been in between?” She touched up her bright pink lipstick.

“I, I…” I couldn’t get the words out.

“I’m guessing you’ve never met a lightseer.” The blond turned, looked at me straight in the eyes. “It’s ok, some in betweeners go hundreds of years without meeting one.”

 

Now it’s your turn! Share below!

 

Leave a Reply

